werewolf, werewolves and lycans


A Series For Teens: The Kiesha’ra

wolfcryThanks to Twilight young readers are falling in love with werewolves all over again and are hungry for more young adult books featuring our furry friends. But when you look up books on werewolves most of them are adult books, many of which are trashy romance novels not really fit for a 13-year-old. So today I’ll shine some light onto an awesome shapeshifter series I absolutely loved as a teenager, the Kiesha’ra series by Amelia Atwater-Rhodes. Now, for those that have already read this series you are probably thinking, “but we don’t meet the wolves until book 4!!!” That is true, but just because this series has more than wolf shapeshifters doesn’t mean it isn’t fantastic. But be rest assured readers, there are werewolves in the series, you do have to read about snake-shifters and bird-shifters first but it is so totally worth it.

The Kiesha’ra series has five books in it, which are:

1. Hawksong
2. Snakecharm
3. Falcondance
4. Wolfcry
5. Wyvernhail

Now I won’t go through every book and ruin the story for you guys so I’ll just cover the first book in the series. The Kiesha’ra Series is a set of five fantasy novels set way back before modern times, which focus on several races of shapeshifters, including the avians (bird people), the serpiente (snake people), and the shm’Ahnmik (falcon people). In the first book, Hawksong, the story is told by Danica Shardae, an avian shapeshifter. She is a princess of her people who, like the birds they become, is reserved and disciplined, yet full of passion. Her people have been at war with the wild serpiente, a people who shapeshift into serpent forms, for so many years that no one remembers how it all started. The hatred and bloodshed have taken a heavy toll on both sides, and Danica and Zane Cobriana, the sexy serpiente prince, are determined to stop it, at any cost. He is the last of his line as is Danica and so he proposes that the avian and serpiente royalty meet at a neutral place and seek mediation to end the war. The mediator proposal – that Danica and Zane marry – is so crazy and revolting a plan that both parties leave immediately. The two young royals, however, consider it in spite of the apparent lunacy, for it would mean an end to the fighting. But can they pull it off? This book takes the Romeo and Juliet angle to new heights and is dealt with in a completely new and original way. It’s a love story and a plea for peace, and an intriguing look at a world that is full of tension and danger and beauty.

The book is full of romance and passion that puts many young adult romances to shame. But there is more than just romance in it, there is a deep story involving turmoil and hatred among two races. As the series goes on you meet the other animal races as well, including a book all about the wolves, a race that values honor, duty, hunting skills, and strength. It is for sure a series any young (or old) fantasy lover should pick up.

If you also like vampires, Amelia Atwater-Rhodes has a rad vampire series as well, Den of Shadows.

– Moonlight

Amelia Atwater-Rhodesbook seriesFalcondanceHawksongSnakecharmteen seriesThe Kiesha'rawerewolf bookWolfcry

moonlight • October 14, 2009

Previous Post

Next Post